We occasionally recommend products we love and might be paid a share of the sale.
The legality of weed has changed a lot over the past decade across most of the United States. However, that does not mean that cannabis is legal in every state.
In fact, most states have different laws regarding medical and recreational cannabis use, so it’s very important to be aware of marijuana laws in whatever state you’re in.
Arkansas is one example of a state that has very different legal stances on cannabis used recreationally or medically. Here’s what you need to know about whether weed is legal in Arkansas.
Recreational Cannabis Legality In Arkansas
Recreational cannabis use is illegal in Arkansas. Possession of marijuana for recreational purposes is also strictly prohibited and can lead to significant penalties.
If you are found in possession of cannabis in Arkansas and do not have a medical marijuana card, you can be charged with either a misdemeanor or a felony, depending on the amount of cannabis in your possession.
Any amount of cannabis less than 110 grams for non-medical purposes in Arkansas is classified as a Class A misdemeanor. For anything over 28 grams, you can be charged with a class D felony.
In Arkansas, the penalties for both misdemeanors and felonies are far from lenient. For a Class A Misdemeanor, you could end up serving a year in prison, or paying a fine of up to $2,500. Both penalties may be awarded simultaneously.
Meanwhile, if you are charged with a Class D felony, your sanction will be much more severe. The maximum prison sentence is 6 years, and you could also be fined anything up to $6,000.
Bear in mind that your sentence or fine may be reduced if you are caught on a first-time offense. However, you may still face the full $2,500 fine and up to a year’s incarceration.
Medical Marijuana Legality In Arkansas
If you have a medical marijuana card in Arkansas, you are permitted to be in possession of and use cannabis, within certain limitations. The use of cannabis for medical purposes was approved in Arkansas in 2016.
You may be given a medical marijuana card if you have a qualifying physical or mental health condition.
The conditions that are legally allowed to be treated using marijuana in Arkansas include PTSD (post-traumatic stress disorder), Tourette syndrome, fibromyalgia, Alzheimer’s disease, muscle spasms or seizures, ulcerative colitis,
Crohn’s disease, arthritis, HIV/AIDS, and Hepatitis C. Nausea that cannot be controlled with other medication may also warrant a medical marijuana card.
Other conditions can be considered for treatment with medical marijuana, but you must submit an application for your condition to be approved by the Department of Health.
Manufacturing Weed In Arkansas
The manufacture of cannabis in Arkansas is illegal. Producing less than 14 grams of cannabis will earn you a Class A misdemeanor, and just like the law for possession, this can earn you a $2,500 fine and imprisonment for no more than 1 year.
Manufacturing over 14 grams of marijuana, up to a quantity of 4 ounces, is classified as a Class D felony, and the maximum prison sentence for this is 6 years. This may be accompanied by a fine of up to $10,000.
The greater the quantity of cannabis manufactured, the more severe the charge and the penalty. You can be charged with a Class C felony for manufacturing more than 4 ounces of cannabis, anywhere up to 25 pounds.
The maximum fine for this is $10,000, but unlike a Class D felony, there is a minimum prison sentence: 3 years.
When a quantity of marijuana between 25 and 100 pounds is manufactured, the charge is c class B felony, and the penalty includes a minimum prison sentence of 5 years.
This may be accompanied by a fine of $15,000, and if other aggravating factors are present, the prison sentence can be increased to anywhere up to 20 years.
Class A felonies for weed manufacture are reserved for quantities exceeding 100 pounds. The prison sentence for this offense is a minimum of 6 years, but can be as much as 30 years, and the fine may reach $15,000.
The penalties for recreational cannabis possession or use in Arkansas are severe. Depending on the amount of cannabis in your possession, you could spend anywhere between 1 year and 6 years in prison.
The sanctions for manufacture and growing marijuana in Arkansas are even stricter. The maximum potential sentence if awarded a Class A felony (for manufacturing more than 100 pounds of weed) is 30 years.
While medical marijuana is legal in Arkansas, you must have received a medical marijuana card and purchase your cannabis from a registered dispensary. You must also know what forms of cannabis can be consumed and where.
Learn more about Midwest weed laws and legal status of cannabis in neighboring states.
- Is weed legal in Louisiana?
- Is weed legal in Mississippi?
- Is weed legal in Missouri?
- Is weed legal in Oklahoma?
- Is weed legal in Tennessee?
- Is weed legal in Texas?
Frequently Asked Questions
Where Can I Consume Weed In Arkansas With A Medical Card?
Having a medical marijuana card does not mean you can use marijuana anywhere. You are not allowed to consume cannabis is a public place, including public transport, and its use is prohibited in all schools.
You may not consume cannabis in your own vehicle, and even private residences are off limits if any kind of licensed childcare is conducted in the building.
Does It Matter Where I Buy Medical Marijuana In Arkansas?
Your cannabis use will only be protected under the Medical Marijuana Amendment in Arkansas if you purchase it from a licensed dispensary within the state.
If you are found in possession of cannabis that has been purchased elsewhere, you will not be protected by the act and your possession may be treated as being for recreational use.
What Are The Rules For Medical Marijuana Consumption In Arkansas?
The minimum age to consume medical cannabis in herbal form is 21 in the state of Arkansas. Non-herbal forms of medical marijuana, including edibles and drinks, must not contain THC in excess of 10 mg.
Inhalation of herbal cannabis is prohibited in the presence of children aged 14 or younger, and the same rule applies in the presence of pregnant women.
I’m an avid gardener and cannabis enthusiast. You can usually find me in my garden caring for my plants or at my computer crafting helpful blogs for my readers.