We occasionally recommend products we love and might be paid a share of the sale.
While the possession and consumption of weed are illegal on the federal level, individual US states have their own laws and regulations relating to the legality of cannabis.
Maryland is one of the states that have the most lenient cannabis laws in the United States. You are allowed to possess and use a small amount of weed.
In this handy guide, we find out how much marijuana you are allowed to carry with you and where you can use cannabis.
Is Weed Legal In Maryland?
Yes, you can legally possess, use and grow cannabis in the state of Maryland. However, you need to be 21 years or older.
In Maryland, the law describes weed or marijuana as cannabis but all these terms fall under the same regulations.
Is Cannabis For Medical Reasons Legal In Maryland?
Yes, you can legally get medical cannabis from a licensed dispensary if you live in Maryland.
However, you need to be at least 18 years or older. Plus, you need to be signed up for a medical cannabis program that proves you can consume marijuana for medical purposes.
How Much Cannabis Are You Legally Allowed To Have In Maryland?
The possession and consumption of cannabis in Maryland are tied to specific amounts.
Persons who are 21 and older are allowed to have up to 1.5 ounces of pure cannabis or up to 12 g of concentrated cannabis.
Adults can also buy and consume cannabis products that contain up to 750 mg of delta-9 THC.
In addition, people older than 21 can also grow up to two cannabis plants legally in Maryland.
Anyone who exceeds these limits may face a fine, or criminal or civil penalties. The exact penalty depends on the amount found.
Penalties For Possessing More Than The Legal Amount
There are a number of things you need to look out for if you want to buy, use and grow cannabis in Maryland.
One of the biggest factors to keep in mind is the amount you are allowed to possess.
You may face a fine if you possess more than 1.5 ounces of cannabis. If you have under 2.5 ounces, then you can get fined up to $250.
You may also need to pay a fine if you have more than 12 g of concentrated cannabis on you, but less than 20 g.
Also, consuming cannabis products that contain more than 705 mg of delta-9 THC but less than 1250 mg is illegal and incurs a fine of up to $250.
If you possess or use more than 2.5 ounces of cannabis or more than 20 g of concentrated cannabis, then you may be charged with a criminal misdemeanor.
Plus, the consumption of cannabis products that have a higher delta-9 THC content than 1250 mg is also illegal and you may face a criminal misdemeanor charge.
Where Can You Purchase Cannabis Legally In Maryland?
You can buy legal cannabis in dispensaries and some retail stores.
You can also purchase cannabis products online as long as it is within the legal limits of the state of Maryland.
Keep in mind that you are only allowed to possess and consume certain amounts of cannabis.
Even if a product looks genuinely legal, make sure to check the amount and ingredients list to ensure that you don’t exceed the legal limits.
Where Are You Not Allowed To Consume Cannabis In Maryland?
While the consumption of small amounts of weed is permitted in Maryland, you are not allowed to consume cannabis or hemp products of any type in a vehicle or public place.
Public places are defined by Maryland laws as indoor and outdoor spaces that are accessible by the public. For example, restaurants, bars and public transportation.
As the possession and use of cannabis are still illegal in federal law, you are also not allowed to possess cannabis products on any federal property, including national parks.
If you smoke or consume cannabis in a public place, then this is a civil offense and you receive a fine of $250.
If you continue to use weed in public places, then you may face a higher penalty of $500.
Can You Consume Cannabis At Work?
No, there are a number of state and federal laws that don’t allow people to consume cannabis products at work.
For example, federal laws prohibit anyone under the influence of alcohol or drugs to operate a vehicle, including commercial transport vehicles.
As the use of weed typically affects work output, an employer may also have specific workplace policies relating to cannabis consumption.
Can You Grow Cannabis At Home In Maryland?
Yes, the state of Maryland allows you to grow up to two cannabis plants legally. However, there are some basic restrictions in place for growing cannabis.
Make sure that your cannabis plants are safely secured so that they cannot be accessed by any unauthorized persons or people who are under 21.
The weed plants also must be away from public view, so make sure that you keep your plants in a well-ventilated room or covered area.
In addition, Maryland laws permit only two cannabis plants per residence. The number of adults living at the residence has no impact on this limit.
Plus, cannabis growers can only grow their two plants on property they or. Alternatively, they can also seek consent for growing their plants from the property owner.
Can You Sell Cannabis In Maryland?
While Maryland is more lenient than many other US states regarding the consumption and possession of cannabis, selling weed without a license is still illegal.
If you are caught selling marijuana without appropriate licensing, then you face a criminal penalty that could include a fine of up to $5,000 or three years in prison.
The growing, possession and use of weed is legal in Maryland, as long as you are 21 years or older and you have only a small amount of cannabis or cannabis products.
Learn more about Northeast weed laws and legal status of cannabis in neighboring states.
- Is weed legal in Delaware?
- Is weed legal in District of Columbia?
- Is weed legal in Pennsylvania?
- Is weed legal in Virginia?
I’m an avid gardener and cannabis enthusiast. You can usually find me in my garden caring for my plants or at my computer crafting helpful blogs for my readers.