We occasionally recommend products we love and might be paid a share of the sale.
While weed is illegal on the federal level, individual states have their own laws and regulations. If you are in Utah, you may wonder if weed is legal in Utah.
Similar to alcohol laws, Utah has some of the toughest cannabis laws in the United States. You are allowed to carry and use cannabis only for medicinal purposes.
In this weed guide, we find out the legal status of cannabis in Utah and where you can use and buy weed in the Beehive State.
Is Weed Legal In Utah?
Weed is only legal if you use it for medical issues where standard pharmaceutical drugs don’t work.
However, recreational cannabis is illegal in Utah and you are not allowed to possess, use or grow weed in private or a public space.
If you are caught carrying cannabis or illegal drugs, then you can get charged with a misdemeanor, even for small amounts.
This is also important to be aware of if you are traveling through Utah from one of the neighboring states that have more lenient cannabis laws.
Is Medical Cannabis Legal In Utah?
Yes, medical cannabis is legal in the state of Utah. In fact, it is the only legalized cannabis product in Utah.
Patients who need hemp or CBD products for various medical conditions can discuss a possible prescription with their doctor.
Only terminal illnesses and severe conditions qualify for cannabis prescriptions in Utah. Plus, a doctor can only prescribe the drug if other conventional methods have failed.
In addition to physical conditions, healthcare practitioners can also prescribe medicinal marijuana for various mental health conditions.
If you want to buy medical cannabis from a licensed dispensary in Utah, then you need to apply for a cannabis card with the Compassionate Use Board.
The board reviews each case individually and decides if a patient qualifies for the card.
Can You Buy Cannabis In Utah?
You can only buy medicinal cannabis in Utah. In order to purchase medical weed, you need to be 18 years of age. Plus, you also need a medical card.
If you are between 18 and 21, then these cards need to be approved by the local Compassionate Use Board.
You also need a prescription from your doctor that you can take to a licensed dispensary to get your cannabis.
Do You Need A Weed Card To Buy Cannabis In Utah?
As you can buy only medical cannabis legally in Utah, you need to purchase your weed from a licensed dispensary.
A dispensary licensed for cannabis sale requires a valid prescription from your doctor and a cannabis card issued by the Compassionate Board or a qualified medical provider.
Penalties For Possession And Use Of Cannabis In Utah
All possession and consumption of weed, excluding medical use, is prohibited in Utah. This means that any amount of cannabis found on you or your home can lead to severe fines.
This being said, even cannabis patients with a medical weed card are only allowed to carry 3.95 ounces (113 grams) of cannabis over a time of 30 days.
Plus, if you take your medical cannabis outside your home, then you also need to carry your cannabis card with you at all times.
If you are caught without your medical card or you exceeded the 30 days limit then this is a class B misdemeanor and you may face up to 6 months in prison or a $1000 fine.
If you are caught in possession of cannabis several times, then this could even lead to a third-degree felony.
The penalties and sentences you receive depend on the quantity of drugs.
For example, if you are found in possession of more than 100 pounds of cannabis, you face a second-degree felony.
In addition to fines and imprisonment, anyone who is convicted of cannabis possession in Utah also has their driver’s license suspended for at least six months.
How Much Weed Can You Buy In A Day In Utah?
Only patients who need cannabis for medical purposes are allowed to purchase weed from licensed dispensaries in Utah.
Patients are limited to 113 grams of unprocessed cannabis within a time period of 30 days.
Can You Sell Cannabis In Utah?
No, it is illegal to sell cannabis in the state of Utah. If you are caught selling weed, then this is classed as a second-degree felony which can lead to a 15-year prison sentence.
You may also receive a heavy fine of up to $10,000.
If you sell in the presence of minors or within a thousand feet of a public area, such as a school, then this could even be a first-degree felony with a mandatory sentence of five years.
Can You Grow Cannabis In Utah?
No, you are not allowed to grow cannabis or any number of cannabis plants in Utah. If you grow cannabis illegally, then this can lead to severe fines or imprisonment.
While neighboring states, such as New Mexico, allow you to grow some weed plants in your own home or with property owner consent, Utah state law prohibits all growing of cannabis.
Where Are You Allowed To Use Weed In Utah?
You are not allowed to smoke weed or consume cannabis anywhere in public places in Utah.
Even if you have a medical marijuana card that permits the legal use of the drug, you can only consume it in your home, except for a medical emergency.
Federal laws and local regulations in Utah don’t allow the consumption of marijuana anywhere inside a building or outside in public.
This being said, some employers can give you permission to consume medical weed as long as it serves a medical purpose.
However, this only applies to public employers. Private employers don’t have a legal obligation to allow the consumption of any type of cannabis on their premises.
Utah has strict cannabis laws that only permit the use of medicinal weed. The possession, consumption and growing of recreational marijuana are all illegal.
Learn more about Rocky Mountain weed laws. As well as the legal status of cannabis in neighboring states.
- Is weed legal in Arizona?
- Is weed legal in Colorado
- Is weed legal in Idaho?
- Is weed legal in Nevada?
- Is weed legal in New Mexico?
- Is weed legal in Wyoming?
I’m an avid gardener and cannabis enthusiast. You can usually find me in my garden caring for my plants or at my computer crafting helpful blogs for my readers.